Trailers & Equine Transportation click here!   Show Previews click here!    Holiday Gift Guide click here!   

Join Our Mailing List!

Sign up to get interesting news
delivered FREE to your inbox.  

Monday, November 29, 2021

Andrew Philbrick and Anne Kursinski among candidates for directors of USHJA

LEXINGTON, Ky.--A number of the candidates on the ballot to be directors of the U.S. Hunter Jumper Association have very close ties to the community in the Delaware Valley, particularly Anne Kursinski, whose clinics many in this ares attend, and Andrew Philbrick, whose horse shows many in this area compete in.

Andrew PhilbrickAndrew PhilbrickThe U.S. Hunter Jumper Association announce the slate of candidates who will be on the ballot for the USHJA Board of Directors election in December during the USHJA Annual Meeting, which will be held virtually this year Dec. 4-10.

The Board of Directors will vote on the candidates for four Director At-Large positions during their meeting session on Monday, Dec. 6 at 6 p.m. ET.

The USHJA Nominating Committee sought individuals meeting the following criteria—Hunter Athlete, Jumper Athlete, Zone Council and Affiliate Council—for the four open Director-At-Large positions.

The following are the nominees for the Board of Directors positions open for election this year:

Director At-Large Seat 1, Hunter Athlete

Caroline Weeden, Lake Bluff, Ill. (Hunter)

Director At-Large Seat 2, Jumper Athlete

Anne Kursinski, Frenchtown, N.J. (Jumper)
Mary Lisa Leffler, Brookeville, Md. (Jumper)

Director At-Large Seat 3, Affiliate Council

Cricket Stone, Gladys, Va. (Hunter)
Suzanne Warmack, Wimberley, Texas (Jumper)

Director At-Large Seat 4, Zone Council

Andrew Philbrick, Princeton, N.J. (Jumper)
Eric Straus, Tryon, N.C. (Jumper)

These candidates were determined through a multi-step process.

USHJA members submitted nominations for USHJA Board of Director positions, from which the above slate was developed by the USHJA Nominating Committee.

All elected and appointed members of the Board of Directors will assume their duties immediately following the close of this year's Annual Meeting on December 10. Each position will serve a four-year term.


THE U.S. HUNTER Jumper Associationalso recently announced the newly-seated USHJA Zone Committee members.

Zone Committees are made up of a minimum of 15 members: six representatives elected by the Zone membership (three designated Hunter and three designated Jumper), four members appointed by Affiliate Member Organizations (with the largest number of members), and a minimum of five individuals are appointed by the USHJA President.

“We extend a warm welcome to our new USHJA Zone Committee members as they begin their terms,” Knowlton said. “We are excited to have them join the committees and be a voice for members in their zones. We know our newly-seated members have a wealth of knowledge and a wide range of experience in the sport, and we look forward to working together to continue to improve the sport for our members.”


Zone 1

Amy Eidson, Chair
Jay Mullen, Vice Chair
Melissa Barden (New Hampshire Hunter Jumper Association)
Cynsie Broda
Ann Dotoli
Leigh Gallagher
Sally Hinkle Russell
Monica Hunt
Felicia Knowles (New England Horseman's Council)
Carol J. Law (IHSA Zone 1)
April Renzella (Massachusetts Horseman's Council)
Sheila Murphy (non-voting advisor)
Carla Sharp (non-voting advisor)
Kristi Smith
Kenneth Whelihan

Zone 2

Katie Benson, Chair
Andrew Philbrick, Vice Chair
James Benedetto
Wendy Chapot Nunn
Mary Drueding (IHSA Zone 2)
Nora Hanlon
Clare Knapp (IHSA Zone 3)
Linda Mancini
Cynthia McGrath
Faith McKay-Alicea
Tobey McWilliams
Elizabeth Perry
Tamara Woitas

Zone 3

Eric Straus, Chair
Alan Lohman, Vice Chair
Miranda Grabill (Maryland Horse Show Association)
Rachel Howell
Brooke Kemper
Oliver Kennedy
Tracy Magness
Peggy McElveen (IHSA Zone 4)
Streett Moore
Denice De Risio-Perry
Sandra Ruiz
Catherine Schlaeppi (North Carolina Hunter Jumper Association)
Christina Schlusemeyer
Cricket Stone (Southwest Virginia Horse Show Association)

The Horse of Delaware Valley

Editor: Sara Cavanagh

Advertising Director: Ginny Jenkins

Marketing Manager: Heather Mullen

Since 1980


Monthly Advertising Themes


  • March
    Spring/Summer Show Previews & Trainers, Barns & Equipment
  • April
    All Natural Products & Services, Spring/Summer Show Previews & Trainers, Barns & Equipment
  • May
    All Natural Products & Services, Equine Vets & Caregivers
  • June
    Equine Vets & Caregivers, Pets & Pet Supplies, & Footing and Fencing
  • July
    Pets & Pet Supplies, Footing & Fencing, & Equine Education & Colleges
  • August
    Fall Show Previews & Trainers, Equine Education & Colleges, Equine Insurance, Legal & Accounting
  • September
    Fall Show Previews & Trainers, Equine Feed & Supplies, Equine Insurance, Legal, & Accounting
  • October
    Trailers & Equine Transportation, Equine Feed & Supplies
  • November
    Holiday Gift Guide, Trailers & Equine Transportation
  • December
    Stallions/Breeding, Winter Care & Gift Guide
  • January
    Stallions & Breeding, Photo Contest & Winter Care
  • February
    Barns & Equipment, Photo Contest

Click here for more Information.

HODV27 SignUp 200x200

kids corner sidebar promo